Welcome to A Stick and Sand! 

I'm so glad you stopped by to visit this little corner of the web!  I pray that this will be a place of encouragement for you as you homeschool.

We live in a complicated world.  Homeschoolers, especially, are prone to feeling guilty or overwhelmed by all the choices, ideas, and information at our fingertips.  Many people today, exhausted from over-crowded schedules and buried in mountains of stuff, are craving simplicity.  As a student of simple living for over 2 decades, a writer, an exhorter, and a fellow CC mom, my desire is to inspire you to simplicity.

My name is Lindsey and I'm a homeschooling mom to 4 kids and I tutor Foundations in my local Classical Conversations group here in the beautiful state of Wyoming.  My husband, Josiah, is a carpenter and although I do a couple of cleaning jobs each week and often get paid to take pictures for people, I spend most of my time at home with our energetic kids.

We have a daughter, Alathia, who is 9 years old and loves being with friends, crafts, biking, hiking, climbing trees, and art.  She is a very energetic, highly distractible child who can be brilliant or the hardest of my children to homeschool depending on the day!  She and I recently completed the Memory Masters challenge together. 

Our second child, Jeremiah, is usually sweet and mild-mannered but can sometimes be very stubborn.  He is 7 and loves science and nature.  You can usually find him catching bugs or snakes or drawing in his nature journal or trying to make "experiments" with things around the house.

Next in line is Justus, age 5.  Justus is our most adventurous child.  Many people have compared him to Dennis Mitchell from Denace the Menace.  He is charming and loveable, but has an unbelievable knack for getting into mischief.  On the one hand, he is the most out-of-the-box thinker I've ever met, which is a mark of intelligence, on the other, being his parent means we will go gray prematurely, we will eat lots of humble pie, and we will never be bored!

Our youngest, Katrielle, is 3.  She is our girly, sensitive, soft-spoken, compliant, and easy child.  Parenting "KK" seems like a breeze after her 3 noisy, athletic, boisterous siblings.  KK loves watching Dora, swimming, coloring, playing with dolls, and helping Mommy cook and do chores.

I am a Christian and my faith is the most important thing about me.  I came to faith in Christ at a young age, served God through Child Evangelism Fellowship in my teens, and attended Bible college in chilly Minnesota where I met my husband of 10 years.  I enjoy reading, writing, photography, cooking, organizing, and planning.  I can be very social and love hanging out with my friends but at the end of the day I need some alone time to recharge.  I love John Piper books, my Nikon, pilates, Chai Lattes, chocolate, Thirty-One bags, essential oils, Keen shoes, and Olive Garden.